Inspired Learning. Masterful Teaching. PreK ā€“ 12.

Board of Trustees

The Colorado Springs School (CSS) is a 501c3 nonprofit governed by a self-perpetuating, voluntary Board of Trustees. Its primary responsibility is to hold in trust the school’s future, as well as its present. The Board and the Head of School work in partnership to fulfill the mission of the school. Board responsibilities include ensuring financial stability, establishing policy, hiring, evaluating, and supporting the Head of School, establishing a strategic plan, and ensuring the school is meeting its mission and goals. Its work is primarily long-range and strategic.

The Board is also responsible for ensuring that the school operates in the best interests of its students, teachers, staff, and parents. Moreover, trustees must see that the school serves the public welfare, as the school is a non-profit, tax-exempt institution. CSS is privately managed and independent of state and federal prescriptions.

Many trustees are parents of students at CSS; others are alumnae/i, parents of alums, grandparents, and members of our community at large. The Head of School and one faculty member are ex-officio members.

2020-2021 Trustees

  • Dr. Pio Hocate, P’27, P’20, P’16 - President
  • Mr. Kevin Patterson, P’21 - Secretary
  • Mr. Jon Marple, P’23, Pā€™17, Pā€™16  - Treasurer
  • Dr. Mike Edmonds
  • Mrs. Heather Kelly P’30, P’27
  • Mrs. Lorie Malone P’27, P’22, P’19
  • Mr. Mike McGrath P’03
  • Mr. Kevin Penn P26, Pā€™24
  • Mr. Ben Ralston P’30
  • Mrs. Jill Richardi P’21, P’18
  • Dr. Andy Sabin P’16
  • Mr. Mark Shottes ‘01
  • Mrs. Diane Smith G’27, G’25

Ex-officio Members

  • Ms. Tambi Tyler, Head of School
  • Ms. Ellen Crow P’20, P’20, Faculty/Staff Member to the Board of Trustees

Trustee Emeriti

  • Mr. Barron Collier II, P’10
  • Mr. Larry Gaddis

Other Board Information

Contact the Board

Email the Board.

©2021 Schoolyard. All rights reserved. Site by schoolyard. Sitemap